Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Why Schwab
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about Schwab? I can help …
Live chat
 

Checking from Charles Schwab Bank

Print
  • Share this page


High Yield Investor Checking is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 609.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ATM card in the world! I travel extensively, up to 300 days per year. I get honest exchange rates without any foreign transaction fees. And the icing on the cake is the reimbursement of ATM charges. When my card got "skimmed" in 2014, I received a prompt refund of the unauthorized ATM withdrawals.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BILL PAY IS GREAT HELP IS JUST A CALL AWAY
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, efficient, and convenient Great checking product. Easy to use. Convenient to deposit or withdraw.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staff is so helpful Schwab staff on phone always helpful and responsive. No foreigh exchange fees or ATM fees with debit card. I use this debit card all the time when traveling. Great service. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ... .............
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's all about service
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Advisers are so willing to help with any problem and a senior has many
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this account very convenient and easy touse
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints! What's not to like? Worldwide ATM fees are reimbursed, no foreign transaction fees, free bill payment, convenient online banking, super helpful and knowledgeable customer service. Hands down, my favorite checking account/debit card!
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Excessive hold on external transfer I don't like that you hold my external transfer for 3 days, actually 4 days from my last transfer on 8/21/18 funds hold till 08/25/18
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Checking Account I've had the High Yield Checking for years and it's good. No fees, ATM fees reimbursed. I feel it's like a old fashioned bank where they don't play dirty tricks like other large banks who might process the day's debits before the days deposits ect..
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Service This is the best bank I've ever used, even taking into account that I've never been to a physical location. I've contacted support about a few different issues, and they have always been polite, helpful and quick with replies. My questions have always been thoroughly answered. No international fees and the unlimited ATM rebates were my main reasons for opening the account, not many banks offer no-fee international transactions! Those features combined with great interest rates, no service fees, easy to use website, and great personal service move Schwab bank to my #1 go-to for my banking needs!
Date published: 2018-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from can't order checks I can't re-order checks for my investor checking account. Link is non-responsive
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be happier with my HYIC account! I'd initially gotten a HYIC account for ATM fee reimbursement while overseas. When I got back to the US, however, I made Charles Schwab my primary bank. Schwab has everything I want in a checking account: free checks, a debit card, and easy online transfers between my checking account and other accounts. On the few occasions I called customer service, I've received quick, knowledgeable, and polite service. Schwab has exceeded all of my expectations, and I have recommended them to my friends and family.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Best experience I have ever had with any bank.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to check checking account easily
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will bank with Schwab Forever I've had an account with Schwab since college, originally just because they offered free ATM withdrawals and no fees. Over the last 10 years, the bank has been great for international travel, numerous address changes, and impeccable phone-based service. I haven't walked into a physical bank in years, and I don't think I'll ever need to again!
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great checking account I love how my checks are free and there is no minimum balance. I have had checking accounts at other banks and they nickel and dime you with fees and monthly service charges. Schwab's customer service is always great too. The people seem to be well trained and know what they are doing. I think they get a higher quality of people. At other banks I've gotten different answers depending on who you talk to, get transferred too much etc. At other banks I've waited on hold for ever or they call you back after a lengthy wait. Usually there is not much of a hold on the line if any when I call Schwab. I've gone into our local branch if I need something in person. Bill pay is great too. I usually put my money in my brokerage to earn better interest in a money market fund and then transfer to checking when needed.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to set up It has been over 3 weeks now trying to get this account set up. In the beginning we waited and when we called the fist time we were told it just takes time for the debit card to come in the mail ( set up brokerage and checking acct). We wait and then called again and are told ( for the first time) that we need to unfreeze our credit. Then when we try to link 2 accts ( mom and son) we are emailed ( after calling and talking to a representative) the wrong form (but no one called to tell us that - I had to call regarding the delay and find this out). Then when we get the right form we need to include a voided check which hasn't even been sent because of the delay in the deposit (with the online app). You really are not helping us to switch banks - too many hoops to jump through and lack of follow through on your part.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab meets all my needs for great customer service and personal consideration.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible services. Do NOT open a joint account - it's not a joint account. Information is not shared with your spouse. Avoid. Do NOT do checking with Schwab. This is a brokerage firm, not a bank. The online services are appallingly bad compared to other banks. If you want to open a joint account - realize you are making a huge mistake.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 factor authentication Your 2 factor authentication to log in is an incredible pain to use. Aren't your programmers aware that the cursor can be positioned? I shouldn't have to move the cursor around to click on return, or to enter the text number... please fix this so it's user friendly.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best checking accouint I ever opened Schwasb seems to bend over backwards to take care of my questions.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unrealistic expectations I'm giving a two mostly because of one of your policies. You send an EMAIL when there is an item presenting against a lower balance. And you give an amount of time that is virtually impossible to rectify the item. In the event that some DOES see the email in time, it's generally in the middle of someone's workday. And because you don't have physical branches, even if someone could make it from work or whatever business they have going on at that moment, they'd still have to deposit the funds in the brokerage account, provided they are able to get the funds in a format suitable to do so (No cash). And then, it still takes more time generally for it to clear the brokerage account before it can be transferred. And if someone sees the email (which is typically mixed in hundreds of others) after their shift or whatever business is commencing, your deadline for rectification is before any of the branches in my city even open. You literally give 2/3 of a 24 hour period to cover an item. And most of that time is outside of any branch's operating hours. So it's like trying to do one of those impossible sobriety tests you hear about ("Ok lift both feet and walk backwards with your eyes closed while you're looking up). That is BEYOND FRUSTRATING. You should give AT LEAST 48 HOURS rectification time. AT LEAST.
Date published: 2018-07-12
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_609
  • loc_en_US, sid_1001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab


Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.