Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
.
 

Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA)

Print

Open a Schwab Individual Retirement Account (IRA) for a tax-smart approach to saving for retirement.

Other IRA Options

 
 

There are no fees to open or maintain your account. Other account fees, fund expenses, and
brokerage commissions may apply. (Pricing Details.)

Photo of woman on individual retirement account page

Understanding IRAs

Get answers to your questions about investing for retirement, plus tools and calculators—all to help you build the retirement you want.






Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 769.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Resource and Easy to use Schwab has helped me to meet my goals towards retirement. Their website is easy to navigate. Their research is helpful as well.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no hastle everything u can ask for in an account
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy The Schwab crew constantly tries to improve on already easy and very well staffed firm that is a pleasure to interact with. The staff, when contacted, goes over the top with information. They always answer questions quickly, accurately and with a great attitude. They always ask to do more for you than the original questions.The service factor is off the scale. Thanks Mr. Schwab! You done good!!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your chart page keeps freezing. Your Chart page keeps freezing. I've been having this problem for 3 months and it makes it impossible to due technical analysis of stocks. This is something you need to fix or you are going to start losing clients including me.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to access. I appreciate how accessible my money is to me! I can see where it is and have access in an instant, no hassle!
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beginner Schwab offers many services and features.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RMD in confusion Need way for better advice on RMD.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Advice always available Overall, Schwab has a wide variety of mutual funds that are VERY competitive. Add to that the low cost for buying/selling stocks and the good information available to make educated decisions. That is a winning combination to me.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Financial Group!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Schwab has met all my requirements for both IRA and Taxable account.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disastrous Customer Followup / Beware of Bait and Switch tactics
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally not user friendly No information on how to use my account. Too much information that doesn't seem to apply to my type of account.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab IRA Schwab has low cost investment options that meet my needs and tools that help me find and evaluate investment opportunities.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is okay! I would like a bit more review/recommendations. Do not want to hire your guys.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful and easy. Easy to search for info and any help you may need .
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review Helpful, available staff
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from consistent performance easy to use and make me see good account for the future.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab Rises Above The Rest You cannot beat Schwab. It's where I've sent my parents, my siblings, my friends, and anybody else who asks me. No one does it better. They are the (highest) benchmark.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from online transactions are user friendly
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great For Non-Experts I switched to Chuck's because I save so much money. My previous financial 'analyst' charged a 2% commission on trades. So just setting up my rollover IRA cost me a fortune. I wasn't going to give them another fortune when I needed to make some changes/trades. After all, I was doing all the research and work. I like all the features on the website as well. Very informative and flexible. My Schwab contact is much more responsive than my personal finance gal was. Give em a try, you won't regret it.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from lost the holding tracker on this account Schwab appears to be taking away features on my account web site. Bad form.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too much emphasis on Schwab preferred (e.g., paid ) accounts When I wanted to invest in a fund I have researched, including Morningstar ratings, I had to pay $75 commission. If you really want the customer to enjoy the investing privilege, ALL of your charges should be in the competitive range (say, $8 to $15). If I want to buy anymore of that fund, I will open an account with them directly.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Portfolio Performance Info There should be more information int the "Portfolio Performance" Section of the website. There should be Mid Cap info in the asset class info, should show where my portfolio is heavy or light by reign if the world ( i.e. North America, South America, Europe, etc.), and etc.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great selection and prices Schwab let me build my retirement funds to a point so I could retire.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this company and product ETF. I am keep receiving good financial statements each month.
Date published: 2017-07-04
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_769
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab