Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
.
 

Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA)

Print
  • Share this page

Open a Schwab Individual Retirement Account (IRA) for a tax-smart approach to saving for retirement.

Other IRA Options

 
 

There are no fees to open or maintain your account. Other account fees, fund expenses, and
brokerage commissions may apply. (Pricing Details.)

Photo of woman on individual retirement account page

Understanding IRAs

Get answers to your questions about investing for retirement, plus tools and calculators—all to help you build the retirement you want.






Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 472.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choices, outstanding support. Saving over $3000 in fees just by changing brokerages to Schwab. Outstanding selection of funds, and customer support is superlative.Website much more informative and better laid out then previous brokerage site, most information readily available.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features schwab has provided good service and been very responsive
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay Away Would have given no stars if it was an option!
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to navigate Unable to sign for the checking service to IRA account
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very user friendly Couldn't be easier to do nearly everything online. When help is needed, Schwab associates respond promptly and are knowledgeable, efficient and courteous. Wish everything in this world was so easy.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cost-benefit I've been searching for my stepping stone in terms of Roth IRA, and Schwab is definitely worth it. Their fees are fair and the minimum 1,000$ for opening the account is also ideal for beginners. It has a good variety of commission free ETFs and top-notch research.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tools are very helpful. choices on investment on all sorts are awesome
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good platform functionality and tools. Research is best on the web. The Android app has Message Center section which does not work. Would like to see more short/long term status in app. No ESG (environmental, social, and governance) ratings on platform. No equity background stories.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy User friendly
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Logical and complete
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy navigation everything I need to know is here
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Customer Service Ever! Had to set up my account and take care of RMD paperwork. Your customer service rep, Jonathan (in Phoenix I think), was excellent. He was knowledgeable, went the extra mile to help me, spoke clearly, and made this process easy. Give that boy a raise!
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and easy access I rolled this account over from another more restrictive account. I love how easy it is to make trades and to get information on equities.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Title is fine Very easy to follow each day-- Gives a great indication of trend & direction
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very friendly IRA
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to learn howe to use. Can get information easily when want and need its. Respect my privacy and wish to control how much marketing desired. Is frequently upgraded and improvements are noticeable.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service They helped walk me through rolling over my 403b to an IRA, then once I had the account in place and an online link I found the website to be very easy to navigate and self explanatory.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extensive selection of mutual funds and all the information you need to make intelligent choices.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful partner to walk beside into a new era..... I've only had this retirement account for 25 years and thusfar SCHWAB has performed flawlessly, reported accurately, and been a tremendous aid in my march into retirement. I now have arrived at my destination and I am grateful. Well done one and all! Thank you for your skill and concern....
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIY I can manage everything by using their terrific research tools. I'm a trainer so big into self-learning, and Schwab has given me a plethora of tools to figure out which stocks to buy/sell, and an overall crash course in investing my IRA. Bravo.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Empowered to win Schwab has provided me with the tools to ensure my families financial security....
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from met all requirements!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exception Service I have called multiple times requesting help setting up my IRA's, my RMD distributions and my external accounts. Outstanding service each time I called. My issues are resolved quickly and professionally.
Date published: 2018-02-12
  • y_2018, m_10, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_472
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab