Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
.
 

Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA)

Print
  • Share this page

Open a Schwab Individual Retirement Account (IRA) for a tax-smart approach to saving for retirement.

Other IRA Options

 
 

There are no fees to open or maintain your account. Other account fees, fund expenses, and
brokerage commissions may apply. (Pricing Details.)

Photo of woman on individual retirement account page

Understanding IRAs

Get answers to your questions about investing for retirement, plus tools and calculators—all to help you build the retirement you want.






Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 889.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful partner to walk beside into a new era..... I've only had this retirement account for 25 years and thusfar SCHWAB has performed flawlessly, reported accurately, and been a tremendous aid in my march into retirement. I now have arrived at my destination and I am grateful. Well done one and all! Thank you for your skill and concern....
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIY I can manage everything by using their terrific research tools. I'm a trainer so big into self-learning, and Schwab has given me a plethora of tools to figure out which stocks to buy/sell, and an overall crash course in investing my IRA. Bravo.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Empowered to win Schwab has provided me with the tools to ensure my families financial security....
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from met all requirements!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exception Service I have called multiple times requesting help setting up my IRA's, my RMD distributions and my external accounts. Outstanding service each time I called. My issues are resolved quickly and professionally.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and low fees I am a former CPA and have done accounting for many clients. I always recommend Schwab. Now retired, I count on Schwab for prompt and accurate trade execution. For the novice investor, Schwab ETFs offer a variety of investment allocations, with no trading fees and very low fund expenses.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from why not google crome
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear Statement of my account! Schwab has been very good in helping me manage this account.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing ETF choices and good-til-canceled window too SHORT. ETF choices are FEWER than other top brokers GOOD Til CANCELLED ORDERS ARE MUCH SHORTER THAN other top brokers AND MUST BE RE-ENTERED OFTEN FOR LONG TERM STOPS< SELLS, ETC. This survey wont allow competitor names...do you REALLY want feedback???
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent help Schwab has helped me every time I called for help
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple to find gives ratings for each investiments.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Individual Ira Account Charles Schwab have met all my expectations for investing for my future.I feel good about my investmant goals.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst features Schwab was unable to provide me with a detailed account profile for the end of the previous year showing gains/losses for each holding.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not respomsive i talked to an associate, i put a question in the search box but no letter tab appeared.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service! I always receive top notch service when dealing with Schwab Reps. Very polite, knowledgeable and a pleasure to deal with!
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rods review Schwab has been a great help to me and I will be contacting Schwab Retirement Service soon for more information
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not happy \\\\\\\\\\\\\schwab has failed to send me instructions on how to set up trailing stops. I am an old woman and need the how to instruction in print. have talked to two of your reps, and ask them to request the info be mailed, to my address, nothing yet
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ease of use great features and customer service.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible customer service would not recommend CS had very bad experience
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Many products available, easy to trade, available agents to talk with and good tools like the Portfolio Tool where you can include assets from outside accounts. Since I have managed my own accounts, I can only give this review for independent traders. In the past, I have also used Schwab Mortgage Services which were excellent and offered a very good loan rate.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrating Opened up a new Roth IRA several weeks ago and subsequently tried to set up my external checking account to be able to transfer money easily in to my IRA whenever i wanted to. My account was linked but I was unable to transfer money between my accounts in any way. I waited a few days because I thought since it was a new account it might have to be processed or verified or have some kind of hold placed on it for some reason. After a week I was still unable to transfer funds in to my IRA so I went in to a Schwab branch location to speak with a representative about the matter. They told me that I had to verify my identity and account to release the restriction and fill out a deposit slip to be able to link accounts. They gave me the direct line to be able to unrestrict/verify my account but was on hold for 45 minutes before I frustratedly gave up and never got to speak to a representative. I have called several times in the week since then and have still not been able to get a hold of a representative or receive help within 45 minutes or an hour of waiting. It is extremely frustrating that a renowned company like Charles Schwab can't offer any decent customer service via phone to their customers. It's also really frustrating that my online account/ client center never gave me any notification or message of any sort that I needed to verify or unrestrict my account to be able to add funds to it. It seems like an obvious and easy message to be able to send to a customer so that he or she can use the account. I had to go to a physical Schwab branch to find this out. It has been three weeks since I signed up for my account online and I still have not been able to transfer any funds to it.
Date published: 2018-01-24
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_889
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab