Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Roth IRA

Print
  • Share this page

Open a Roth IRA and take advantage of after-tax benefits as you save for retirement.

Ready to get started?

Open a Roth IRA

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Social Security number
  • Driver’s license number
  • Employer’s name and address
  • Statement information for assets or cash you may want to transfer
  • Beneficiary information
  • No fees to open or maintain your account—other charges may apply1
  • A range of stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds, and CDs to choose from
  • Easy access to financial professionals and various investment tools

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply.1
  • $0 account minimum.
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;2 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account.3

What do I get when I open a Roth IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll get:

  • Qualified withdrawals can be made tax-free
  • No mandatory withdrawals (unlike a Traditional IRA)
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

See Client Reviews

Quick answers to related questions

Here are responses to some of the most common questions we hear. If you have a specific question, please call us at 866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

Call
866-855-5636
or

Helpful Resources

We’ll help you choose the right account. Call 877-627-7734 or visit a local branch.

Your New Client Concierge will help you take care of the paperwork, transfer assets, and more.



Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 517.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very supportive! As someone fairly new to trading and working with IRA's, I am very appreciative of the patient help.
Date published: 2019-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab met reqtyrements for bank and brokerage
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs are met ! Good service and support are always there,
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I love Schwab!
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been with them for years Always helpful for my needs
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mismanaged Account I met a "team" 3 times, expressing Not to loose principle. That no gains, or a little gain is fine. Now, I'm retired and in "Recovery Mode" financially.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from COULD NOT COMPLETE
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Long Term Growth Investing I have never had any problems with Schwab while investing, very easy to operate the website and I look forward to staying with Schwab for years to come. Thanks for taking care of your investors it truly shows.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far I am very satisfied. As turbulent as the market has been, the losses for me have not been catastrophic. I continue to check my account.
Date published: 2018-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, set up perfectly. Very Very satisfied. I like the feature of all 3 of my accounts being accessed all on one page. Ease in trading and comparing my equities in all accounts. Fantastic!!!
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab = the best Charles Schwab is a great place to have an account. Very easy to maneuver the web page.
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall Schwab experience
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I can easily buy or sell at a set price or at market. They send me an e mail to confirm when an order goes through. Their pricing is good and I have been satisfied with the research I have done on their site.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RMD Easy and simple.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incompetent Everything worked great until I had a filing problem. I was misinformed twice. Schwab didn't respond to submissions twice. No one to hold accountable.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great low cost investing Super easy interface, great options, and low fees. Makes me feel more in control of my money.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor features could not find link to corporate actions/instructions for tender offers. Very poor and highly frustrating.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help when I need it Schwab is full service and meets my requirements for traditional IRA, Roth IRA, bank checking, and bank saving accounts.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional people
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Customer friendly, low charges,great web service New feature of check writing on 401k is very helpful and efficient for me and schwab.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’m a beginner This firm helps me!
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Schwab has created a wonderful way for anyone to get involved with saving and investing for retirement. They have great products, great investment avenues and their customer service is second to none.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great company
Date published: 2018-10-20
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_517
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab