Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Rollover IRA

Print
  • Share this page

One way to take control of your retirement savings is to roll over your plan from a former employer.

Ready to get started?

Open a Rollover IRA

Why should you consider rolling over an old 401(k)?

  • Administrative fees may be lower.
  • You can simplify your overall financial situation.
  • You may find more investment choices that are better for your situation.
  • No fees to open or maintain your account—other charges may apply1
  • A range of stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds, and CDs to choose from
  • Easy access to financial professionals and various investment tools

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,000
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;2 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account3

What do I get with this Rollover IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll get:

  • A tax-smart way to keep your retirement money invested and avoid early withdrawal penalties
  • Hassle-free rollover help from start to finish
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

A rollover of retirement plan assets to an IRA is not your only option. Carefully consider all of your available options which may include but not be limited to keeping your assets in your former employer's plan; rolling over assets to a new employer's plan; or taking a cash distribution (taxes and possible withdrawal penalties may apply). Prior to a decision, be sure to understand the benefits and limitations of your available options and consider factors such as differences in investment related expenses, plan or account fees, available investment options, distribution options, legal and creditor protections, the availability of loan provisions, tax treatment, and other concerns specific to your individual circumstances.

See client reviews

Quick answers to related questions

Have questions about our Rollover IRA? Here are responses to some of the most common questions we hear. If you have a specific question, please call us at 866-855-9095.

Rollover Start Guide

A 401(k) rollover is a smart way to take control of your retirement savings. To roll over your old 401(k) or other employer-sponsored plan into a Schwab IRA, simply follow these steps.


Step 1. Open your Schwab Rollover IRA.

  • Apply for a Rollover IRA online to get started on your own.
  • Call 866-855-9095 to have a Rollover Consultant handle the details for you.

Step 2. Fund your account.

  • Contact your former employer’s plan administrator and tell them you want a direct rollover of your plan assets.
  • Complete any forms required by your former employer.
  • Decide how you want your retirement assets distributed.
  • Ask your employer to deposit your funds directly into your Schwab Rollover IRA.
    1. To prevent funds from being taxed, the check should be made payable to “Charles Schwab & Co., Inc., FBO (Your Name).”
    2. For an easy deposit, give your employer your Schwab Rollover IRA account number and ask them to include it on the check.
  • Instruct your employer to mail the check to: Charles Schwab & Co., Inc., P.O. Box 628291, Orlando, FL 32862-8291.
  • If your employer made your rollover distribution check payable to you rather than to Schwab, see our Rollover IRA FAQs to find out what to do.

Step 3. Invest your funds.

Take the next step.

Call a Schwab Rollover
Consultant
at 866-855-5636 or

Helpful Resources



Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 889.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from never make money its been ok but still moving my money
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review very good service overall
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to understand. Features are clear and easily understood.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy........... BECAUSE even this moron learned how to use it.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stop Grading my stock picks! If you want big brother telling what your doing wrong, these are the guys. They grade every stock you buy. I like dividend, I have a spec. stock, I mix it up a bit and my portfolio is graded by Schwab as barely passing. Let me guess, I should put all my money in big banking. Some of the worst companies get a grade of A. Really, butt out of my business. Idea, maybe I should move this account.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complicated online Investment Good customer service. But the online system is way to complicated to choose investments as a novice.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Schwab has exceeded my expectations
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ease of use
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from fees
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Required Minimum Distrribution If you wanted to know the RMD for this year, really nice if the RMD screen at least pointed you to that place. Or maybe if the RMD calculator showed my calculation. I was on hold this morning for 15 minutes then gave up to ask this question.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistency You guys have excel every time I call you for assistance. There has never been a time when I have called and have not been satisfied with your help. If my initial contact person is not able to assist there is no hesitation in calling in additional support.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad The site is not functioning properly and I cannot complete a rollover IRA application online.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great experience The team at Schwab is always helpful and very responsive. Some of the website features (like trying to track yearly or quarterly performance) are kind of confusing but you can always chat or call to get help.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service Schwab has to be one of the best companies in the world when it comes to caring about its customers!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy banking and no ATM fees! Love our online Schwab banking... it’s easy to use and being able to easily transfer funds between our banking account and brokerages accounts is a plus. No ATM fees... and no service fees! We are loving it. Thanks schwab!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your more interested in getting feedback and showing off than you are in letting me get on with my business.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to navigate. Puts the consumer first.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor back office attention to detail We make deposits to two 401k accounts monthly. One check per month per account is from the company, the other check per month to the account is the employee deferral. Schwab constantly mixes up these contributions and I live in monthly fear of an audit, taxes and penalties. Not sure how long I can live with this before I need to switch to another bank.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor featusres. I would think that for small investors like me more help would be available in easier to understand format. This site is in-workable.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great format Charles Schwab format is easy to navigate through. Buying or selling stocks, bill pay through Schwab Bank. They make it simple and easy.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rolled over my 401K from my previous job into an IRA. Thus far I have seen zero activity on the account and received no assistance.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to understand Schwab's customer service exceeds my expectations. The representatives are professional and kind - they make it easy to understand.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pres. excl
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch service from top notch people!!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad customer service Was trying to open a Roth IRA and do a partial conversion from my traditional IRA. Was on the phone for two hours yesterday because the system wouldn't let me fill the app online. At 5 PST was told to call the Retirement group... but then was told they just closed for the day (I had started my call around 3). Called Retirement this morning...was told "some people can do it online and some can't...you'll just have to fill out a paper form" (which takes a few days to process but I need to get it done before year-end). He didn't know why this was the case and didn't bother to help resolve. I asked to escalate but was told he was the lead! I've been a Schwab customer for over 20 years and used to tell others that I loved Schwab because of their customer service...not true now. They just don't care anymore!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no way to make money in 5 star Mutal funds The fees take all the money you make away at the end of the year ............sad
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Company They have everything your looking. Customer Service is excellent!
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab has it all IRA checking, spread trading in IRAs, as well as an entirely comprehensive list of investment choices, all for no annual costs. I love it.
Date published: 2017-12-23
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_889
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab