Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Inherited IRA

Print
  • Share this page

Read client reviews

An inherited IRA is created when someone inherits an IRA after the death of the original owner. If you've inherited an IRA or an account in an employee-sponsored retirement plan, consider transferring it to a Schwab Inherited IRA and get one-on-one help and guidance. You'll get all the tax advantages of the IRA, as well as the ability to withdraw funds according to a set schedule over your lifetime.

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1.  Please see the Charles Schwab Pricing Guide for details. 
  • Account Minimum: $1,000
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;1 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account2

What do I get with a Schwab Inherited IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with one-on-one investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll also get:

See client reviews.

Ready to get started?

Call 866-855-5635.


Open a Schwab Inherited IRA today.

Call 866-855-5635 to get started.

See all accounts.

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Investment returns will fluctuate and are subject to market volatility, so that an investor’s shares, when redeemed or sold, may be worth more or less than their original cost. Unlike mutual funds, shares of ETFs are not individually redeemable directly with the ETF. ETF Shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than the net asset value (NAV).

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 472.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what expected They say they offer personal financial guidance, but alias, no such thing. Made what on the website said was a personal appointment only to receive a phone call the day before saying they would make a phone consultation next week and that they don’t have one on one consultation.
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor support I sent a message, I called for advisor support and called the main number looking for advice on portfolio restructuring. After 3 attempts and 3 weeks, no reply from anyone.
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switching to Schwab I have been with other firms and been lied to by them I would like to see schwab lower the expenses more on retirement date funds and create a index version of Market track allocation funds and lower the expense and gross ratios by 75 percent
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from OPEN NEW ACCOUNT rep had no time for me- SPOKE TO 2 REPS - BOTH TRANSFERED ME TO SIT ON HOLD FOR 10 MINUTES
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good people great place to save and make money. thanks cashmere
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professionals paired with really good technology - Great! Such a quick assessment of my question and resultant needs matched with technology that responds almost instantly. The phone call barely took a minute. All Done!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from IRS form 2439 Still have not received IRS refund. What is status of Form 990T filing by Schwab. Always received this refund by May or early June in past.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's all great! Easy, intuitive, great customer service and website user-friendliness
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inherited IRAs I inherited an IRA that was set up at Schwab, and another brokerage account that had to go through probate. Schwab website is horrendous, you have to call anyone to get anything done and they don't do it correctly. The Estate Account is still sitting here with a balance even though it was supposed to be closed. I'm getting letters to take an RMD for the IRA but I can't find anywhere to set it up, and it was supposed to already be set up. Don't bother with this place.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service! Knowledgeable Rep assisted with all options on my transaction.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Research Tools Use the research tools to make informed decisions. It's so easy and educational and actually addictive. I was researching all day!!
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ease of transfers love the ability to do bank to investment transfers online easily. Safe and secure. thanks.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low fees, great selection Left one brokerage and immediately began saving $3000 yearly in fees! Had a question and extremely helpful rep provided accurate information and even followed up with a phone call the next business day. Excellent online tools and selection of funds-wish we made the switch sooner!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Customer Service I just spoke with Caitlin who helped me set up a moneylink wire transfer. She was very kind, and patient with me. I greatly appreciated her assistance with this matter.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy online servicing Just switched over to Charles Schwab on all my IRAs and investment portfolios! Great online and phone service, staff is friendly and helpful!!
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCLELLENT FORMAT OF ACCOUNTS
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My IRA experience I have a Roth and a regular IRA. Schwab has helped me trade sensibly. I appreciate the access to multiple financial products. My regular IRA has more than doubled since inception and I owe it all to you. I love that you have dividend reinvestment available which was not available elsewhere.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no help I cannot get into my accounts to make changes...have had NO help from associates. only associates with whom I have met are only interested in my moving funds into accounts where they can make money
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-08
  • y_2018, m_10, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_472
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab