Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Inherited IRA

Print

Read client reviews

An inherited IRA is created when someone inherits an IRA after the death of the original owner. If you've inherited an IRA or an account in an employee-sponsored retirement plan, consider transferring it to a Schwab Inherited IRA and get one-on-one help and guidance. You'll get all the tax advantages of the IRA, as well as the ability to withdraw funds according to a set schedule over your lifetime.

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1.  Please see the Charles Schwab Pricing Guide for details. 
  • Account Minimum: $1,000
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;1 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account2

What do I get with a Schwab Inherited IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with one-on-one investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll also get:

See client reviews.

Ready to get started?

Call 866-855-5635.


Open a Schwab Inherited IRA today.

Call 866-855-5635 to get started.

See all accounts.

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Investment returns will fluctuate and are subject to market volatility, so that an investor’s shares, when redeemed or sold, may be worth more or less than their original cost. Unlike mutual funds, shares of ETFs are not individually redeemable directly with the ETF. ETF Shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than the net asset value (NAV).

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 769.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ? Vast improvement since Schwab updated account features a few years go.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe Place to Invest and Learn The customer service and informative updates helps me so much!!!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab has met all my requirements in handling my accounts.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALWAYS EXCELLENY
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Modest Offerings Schwab has a decent offering of passive investments such as Indexed Mutual Funds with industry-low expense ratios. However, their offering of index funds tends to be more limited than their main competitors.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear and Easy The Schwab accounts and the online site access are wonderfully easy to understand and navigate. Our Advisor is intelligent and knows how to help us navigate the complexities of today's market. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints Helpful but not intrusive.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good layout I like all the resources at Schwab.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MRDs I want to automate yearly MRDs. The sight tells mother
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open and clear I can always call for help!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall good - some room for improvement Schwab has "ten" versions of everything for "traders", but barely 1 for Mutual fund investors or cd & money market buyers. You need to provide website tools to make lnvesting easier. e.g. Mfnd investment planning tool (saveable), Annual report of buys, dividend/distributions (cash & rdi) and sells by Ticker (for IRA clients), an online glossary, web release notes, better Documentation support for your great "phone service" folks and accurate ytd & Total return charts for Mutual funds. These are pretty basic products which would greatly benefit the Boomer "investor" clients.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features My requirement have been met
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't get a by IRA contribution to help figure % of account that is after tax contributions Need easy ability to get by year contributions I made to the account. Most years were after tax and is important as I will need this as I have to withdraw for the first time.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always helpful I have found in the Schwab website what I needed
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment Options Investment options are excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOTHING LIKE OPTIONSXPRESS--I WILL BE TRANSFERRING MY ACCOUNT NOT USER FRIENDLY AT ALL
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend that Preferred stocks be listed in a separate category as opposed to being listed with common stocks.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cost basis for the mutual funds are not listed, so it is difficult to determine how it is performing.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides all I look for and easy to navigate.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT TOOLS!!!! CHARLES SCHWAB HAS MET AND EXCEEDED ALL REQUIREMENT WHEN TRADING ONLINE WITH ALL THE TOOLS THE HAVE AT MY DISPOSAL.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-02
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_769
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab