Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Inherited IRA

Print
  • Share this page

Read client reviews

An inherited IRA is created when someone inherits an IRA after the death of the original owner. If you've inherited an IRA or an account in an employee-sponsored retirement plan, consider transferring it to a Schwab Inherited IRA and get one-on-one help and guidance. You'll get all the tax advantages of the IRA, as well as the ability to withdraw funds according to a set schedule over your lifetime.

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1.  Please see the Charles Schwab Pricing Guide for details. 
  • Account Minimum: $0
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;1 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account2

What do I get with a Schwab Inherited IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with one-on-one investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll also get:

See client reviews.

Ready to get started?

Open an Inherited IRA

Call 866-855-5635.


Open a Schwab Inherited IRA today.

Open an Inherited IRA

Need Help? Call 866-855-5635 to get started.

See all accounts.

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Investment returns will fluctuate and are subject to market volatility, so that an investor’s shares, when redeemed or sold, may be worth more or less than their original cost. Unlike mutual funds, shares of ETFs are not individually redeemable directly with the ETF. ETF Shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than the net asset value (NAV).

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 517.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very supportive! As someone fairly new to trading and working with IRA's, I am very appreciative of the patient help.
Date published: 2019-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab met reqtyrements for bank and brokerage
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs are met ! Good service and support are always there,
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I love Schwab!
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been with them for years Always helpful for my needs
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mismanaged Account I met a "team" 3 times, expressing Not to loose principle. That no gains, or a little gain is fine. Now, I'm retired and in "Recovery Mode" financially.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from COULD NOT COMPLETE
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Long Term Growth Investing I have never had any problems with Schwab while investing, very easy to operate the website and I look forward to staying with Schwab for years to come. Thanks for taking care of your investors it truly shows.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far I am very satisfied. As turbulent as the market has been, the losses for me have not been catastrophic. I continue to check my account.
Date published: 2018-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, set up perfectly. Very Very satisfied. I like the feature of all 3 of my accounts being accessed all on one page. Ease in trading and comparing my equities in all accounts. Fantastic!!!
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab = the best Charles Schwab is a great place to have an account. Very easy to maneuver the web page.
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall Schwab experience
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I can easily buy or sell at a set price or at market. They send me an e mail to confirm when an order goes through. Their pricing is good and I have been satisfied with the research I have done on their site.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RMD Easy and simple.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incompetent Everything worked great until I had a filing problem. I was misinformed twice. Schwab didn't respond to submissions twice. No one to hold accountable.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great low cost investing Super easy interface, great options, and low fees. Makes me feel more in control of my money.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor features could not find link to corporate actions/instructions for tender offers. Very poor and highly frustrating.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help when I need it Schwab is full service and meets my requirements for traditional IRA, Roth IRA, bank checking, and bank saving accounts.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional people
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Customer friendly, low charges,great web service New feature of check writing on 401k is very helpful and efficient for me and schwab.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’m a beginner This firm helps me!
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Schwab has created a wonderful way for anyone to get involved with saving and investing for retirement. They have great products, great investment avenues and their customer service is second to none.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great company
Date published: 2018-10-20
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_517
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab