Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Custodial IRA

Print

If you're the parent of a child who has earned income, a Custodial IRA can be a great way to teach the value of saving and investing. Besides getting a head start on saving, your child may be able to use the funds for college expenses—or even to buy a first home.

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Account Minimum: $100
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online trade;2 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account3

What do I get with this Custodial IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with one-on-one investment help and guidance. With this account, you’ll also get:

  • Your choice of a Roth IRA or Traditional IRA
  • Control of the account until your child turns 18 (or 21 in some states)
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for qualified higher education expenses
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

Ready to get started?

Download Application 

Need help? Call 
866-855-5635.

 

See client reviews 


Take the next step.

Open a Schwab Custodial IRA today.

Download a Custodial IRA application.

Or call 866-855-5635.

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 769.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ? Vast improvement since Schwab updated account features a few years go.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe Place to Invest and Learn The customer service and informative updates helps me so much!!!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab has met all my requirements in handling my accounts.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALWAYS EXCELLENY
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Modest Offerings Schwab has a decent offering of passive investments such as Indexed Mutual Funds with industry-low expense ratios. However, their offering of index funds tends to be more limited than their main competitors.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear and Easy The Schwab accounts and the online site access are wonderfully easy to understand and navigate. Our Advisor is intelligent and knows how to help us navigate the complexities of today's market. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints Helpful but not intrusive.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good layout I like all the resources at Schwab.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MRDs I want to automate yearly MRDs. The sight tells mother
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open and clear I can always call for help!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall good - some room for improvement Schwab has "ten" versions of everything for "traders", but barely 1 for Mutual fund investors or cd & money market buyers. You need to provide website tools to make lnvesting easier. e.g. Mfnd investment planning tool (saveable), Annual report of buys, dividend/distributions (cash & rdi) and sells by Ticker (for IRA clients), an online glossary, web release notes, better Documentation support for your great "phone service" folks and accurate ytd & Total return charts for Mutual funds. These are pretty basic products which would greatly benefit the Boomer "investor" clients.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features My requirement have been met
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't get a by IRA contribution to help figure % of account that is after tax contributions Need easy ability to get by year contributions I made to the account. Most years were after tax and is important as I will need this as I have to withdraw for the first time.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always helpful I have found in the Schwab website what I needed
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment Options Investment options are excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOTHING LIKE OPTIONSXPRESS--I WILL BE TRANSFERRING MY ACCOUNT NOT USER FRIENDLY AT ALL
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend that Preferred stocks be listed in a separate category as opposed to being listed with common stocks.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cost basis for the mutual funds are not listed, so it is difficult to determine how it is performing.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides all I look for and easy to navigate.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT TOOLS!!!! CHARLES SCHWAB HAS MET AND EXCEEDED ALL REQUIREMENT WHEN TRADING ONLINE WITH ALL THE TOOLS THE HAVE AT MY DISPOSAL.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-02
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_769
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab