Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Why Schwab
Questions? Get answers now. Live Chat.
 

Trading Services

Print


Schwab Trading Services is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trading fees/commissions aren't competitive...period. Schwab's promotions (i.e. 500 free trades, when funding a new account etc.) are a joke, as any serious trader will end up giving up and back any savings by paying exorbitant commissions after the 500 trades. Schwab will try and justify the commissions and deflect the issue by touting the services they offer. Services are generally fair. Schwab could cut down on their overhead by eliminating the weekend personnel who offer realistically nothing more than an answering service referral to the regular active traders Monday-Friday. Fine for mutual funds, but not a trader's broker for stocks and options etc. Advice to Schwab....initiate competitive trading commissions and fees!
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trading Stocks and Options I have been trading with Charles Schwab for over thirty years. Over those thirty years, I have seen vast improvements to their processes and nice decreases in cost of trading. Their product, StreetInsider.com is great for getting up-to-the-second bid/ask prices and easy and quick trading buttons. I also enjoy how easy it is to move funds between the different accounts that I have with Charles Schwab Bank and my brokerage accounts. Lastly, I enjoy the free on-line bill payment feature of my checking account at Charles Schwab Bank. I have bank accounts at other banks and none offer all the features and benefits that I get from Charles Schwab Bank.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watchlist Share Prices I am an active trader with a little over a year's experience in trading stocks. I conduct research on the website easily by using the charts and fundamentals information provided on each company. During any given day I can be seen shuffling between my accounts, the current news, charts, and company information, and the up to date, current to the minute watch list. The current share prices on the watch list are extremely helpful when I want to get an overview of all my stocks, or when I am getting ready to buy or sell stocks. I never have to hit the "refresh" button on the watch list and I am very thankful for that!!!
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service The best thing about trading with Schwab is the help offered by your active trading team. I am a young professional (3 years out of gradschool), and am only now coming into the point where I have disposable income to invest. I am getting into options, spreads, etc. Which for a first time investor can become very complicated very quickly. I have called in a number of times to discuss trades and strategies and the mechanics of options, and each and every time i have had my questions answered. However, above and beyond just answering the questions, the Schwab representatives have been able to explain the answer to me in a way that I could grasp.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gw review Schwab has offered a lot of excellent information and tools and I have taken advantage of a very limited number of these. I have used the street smart edge trading tool a little, but for what I'm doing, or trying to do, it is a little overdoing it. Like many other people, I'm having a hard time figuring out a good investing approach right now. At present I'm just trying not to lose money, now at 60% cash, and trying to find some things going up short term. I'm trading a lot more than I would prefer. I hope and expect that when some of the major economic issues in the world settle down that volatility will recede and it will be easier to find a reasonable investing/trading approach.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On-Line Representative Service I am new to option trading and in the process of learning. Accordingly I needed assistance to become accustomed and to work with the Schwab system. After doing some advance reading and working out several actions, I called for on-line representative assistance to talk through the process, the Schwab trading directions and to walk with me through placing a trade. I did this several times using selling puts and then covered calls with and with out having the stocks in my account and making purchase at the same time as selling the call. Each time the Schwab representative was knowledgable, could work with the differences associated with my MAC computer and was patient with both the slowness of my operational skills and lack of understanding. In the end I accomplished the desired trades and even made some money.
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from tomschwab1 Basically, SSPro gets the job done. Lots of inconsistencies with data, and some mind boggling shortcomings, but essentially okay. Trade execution process is very slow - Schwab is just slow. Trades executed on SSPro through ARCA execute much faster. It's hard to believe that Schwab bought SSpro from Cybertrader 12 years ago for almost $400 million and that Schwab has made so few improvements. StreetSmartEdge is totally useless and was designed by amateurs trying to be clever rather than people who understand business requirements. If I am forced to use StreetSmart Edge in the future, I will leave Schwab and transfer to y other accounts.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Experience with Schwab I am a beginner at investing and trading. I am just now getting my feet wet. My experience with Schwab in general has been very positive. Any time I decide to trade something and have a question, I call and the persons I talk to are always very helpful and friendly and help me do the trade the best and easiest form possible. I have absolutely no complaints about your service in general and when I have any problem with your trading software (SSE), I just need to call someone and my problem is immediately solved. They are all very knowledgeable in what they do and this is very comforting indeed. I have nothing but good things to say about you guys. Best regards, Beto
Date published: 2012-10-13
  • y_2016, m_12, d_2, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_249
  • loc_en_US, sid_1004, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab


Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.