Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Traditional IRA

Print

Open a Traditional IRA for a tax-smart way to save for retirement.

Ready to get started?

Open a Traditional IRA

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Social Security number
  • Driver’s license number
  • Employer’s name and address
  • Statement information for assets or cash you may want to transfer
  • Beneficiary information
  • No fees to open or maintain your account—other charges may apply1
  • A range of stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds, and CDs to choose from
  • Easy access to financial professionals and investment tools

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,0002
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;3 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account4

What do I get with this Traditional IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you’ll get:

  • Immediate tax benefits if you qualify
  • Potential gains accumulate tax-deferred—pay no taxes until funds are withdrawn in retirement
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

See Client Reviews

Quick answers to related questions

Have questions about our Traditional IRA? Here are responses to some of the most common questions we hear. If you have a specific question, please call us at 866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

Call
866-855-5636
or

Helpful Resources

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 722.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid! Never had any issues, all the information and more is there for all levels of investors. Excellent access to friendly and knowledgeable Customer Service.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to deposit, easy to use research online and easy to buy and sell online at any time of the day.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from changing my IRA investment Due to the closure of my investment mutual fund I had to chose another fund
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad bad online support
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice online interface, good bond department, relatively high commission structure The transaction fees for buying outside mutual funds are excessive. I can buy the same funds for free elsewhere, and may just transfer this account to be able to do so.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from security for life. schwab is the best!
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've been using Schwab for many years because it's easy to navigate. Each new "improvement" makes it more difficult and makes me want to explore other companies. Keep it up and you eventually will lose my business.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Resource and Easy to use Schwab has helped me to meet my goals towards retirement. Their website is easy to navigate. Their research is helpful as well.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no hastle everything u can ask for in an account
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy The Schwab crew constantly tries to improve on already easy and very well staffed firm that is a pleasure to interact with. The staff, when contacted, goes over the top with information. They always answer questions quickly, accurately and with a great attitude. They always ask to do more for you than the original questions.The service factor is off the scale. Thanks Mr. Schwab! You done good!!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your chart page keeps freezing. Your Chart page keeps freezing. I've been having this problem for 3 months and it makes it impossible to due technical analysis of stocks. This is something you need to fix or you are going to start losing clients including me.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to access. I appreciate how accessible my money is to me! I can see where it is and have access in an instant, no hassle!
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beginner Schwab offers many services and features.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RMD in confusion Need way for better advice on RMD.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Advice always available Overall, Schwab has a wide variety of mutual funds that are VERY competitive. Add to that the low cost for buying/selling stocks and the good information available to make educated decisions. That is a winning combination to me.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Financial Group!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Schwab has met all my requirements for both IRA and Taxable account.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disastrous Customer Followup / Beware of Bait and Switch tactics
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally not user friendly No information on how to use my account. Too much information that doesn't seem to apply to my type of account.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab IRA Schwab has low cost investment options that meet my needs and tools that help me find and evaluate investment opportunities.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is okay! I would like a bit more review/recommendations. Do not want to hire your guys.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful and easy. Easy to search for info and any help you may need .
Date published: 2017-07-20
  • y_2017, m_11, d_15, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_722
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab