Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Traditional IRA

Print
Read client reviews

To reach your retirement goals, we recommend taking full advantage of tax-smart ways to save. With a Schwab Traditional IRA, you won't pay taxes on earnings until you make withdrawals, and you may get immediate tax benefits when you contribute.

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,0002
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;3 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account4

What do I get with this Traditional IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you’ll get:

  • Immediate tax benefits if you qualify
  • Potential gains accumulate tax-deferred—pay no taxes until funds are withdrawn in retirement
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support
See client reviews

Ready to get started?

Need help? Call
866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

  or call 866-855-5636.

Investors should consider carefully information contained in the prospectus, including investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. You can request a prospectus by calling 800-435-4000. Please read the prospectus carefully before investing.

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 642.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Locks me out of account unless I respond to go paperless
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Investment Environment Schwab definitely delivers on its message of "owning your future" by providing a great investment environment that allows us to view our portfolio from many different perspectives, learn financial analytics at our own pace and apply what we have learned to our investments. We also take comfort in knowing the answers to our questions are always a phone call away. One additional feature that might be nice would be to provide custom labels for positions in accounts to allow he composite (unrealized) yield of any portion of a portfolio to be shown.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rollover IRA Excellent, cost-efficient, professional investment advice. I truly appreciate the select mutual funds and ETF's that help me find some really outstanding funds. I have been very pleased with Schwab and the ease of use for research, trades, and periodic portfolio check-up's. Thank you for making this process simple, yet valuable and very educational.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a bunch of bullies
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reduced Fees Made me Reconsider Changing Companies I was about to move from Schwab due to their trading fees, but they recently cut them to remain competitive, so I am reconsidering because Schwab has a lot of options, but I don't think their research is among the best. I would like to be able to compare ETFs and Mutual Funds by category. I don't like that we can't access closed accounts. I would like to have an easy way to see returns of each holding in my account. Quarterly returns should be easier to customize, update, and delete. I used to have a local contact, but they did away with that which makes it harder to get answers about my account which takes away from my loyalty. I like companies that offer services based on the size of the accounts. They appear to be doing away with premium services while the competition is adding them. I have had an account with Schwab probably since the late 70s or early 80s but even that I can't tell as accounts were combined in 2009 so I can no longer access my history prior to that.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Low Balance Alert I use limit GTC orders for Schwab ETFs and AIP into mutual funds and of course, I cannot have negative balance in retirement accounts. So, there should be a feature to ALERT me if my balance is below a pre-set threshold.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent account for service and flexibility. I like being able to call my own investment shots.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features Useful information
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 30+ years of outstanding service, low costs, and reliability Over my working life, I've had 401k accounts with other brokerage/financial institutions. But none have provided the level of service that Charles Schwab has given me for over 3 years. Great customer service, reliable systems, full range of investments, and excellent value.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to navigate At least 15 years of satisfaction
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MANAGING IRA'S I HAVE HAD IRA'S WITH SCHWAB FOR MANY YEARS AND I AM HAPPY THAT THEY MANAGE THEM TOTALLY..
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy of access / Great research Extremely easy to access account information. Very user friendly trading. Generally excellent call-in center assistance is available. Call-in assistance is available 24/7
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic website and tools The website is clean, easy to use, and has many great researching tools.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Constrained IRA restricted, cannot transfer funds to Schwab checking. IT knows this but will not correct at this time. I've done this before on-line but today I must use a form to set up a new external account link.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great information readily available on the website I have been using Schwab for years and am pleased in all respects.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service and Investment Selections! For my IRA, customer service and selection of products are the most important factors since I am trusting my money for long term investments. I want to make some selections and trust there are friendly people to answer my questions.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All of it Stinks on Ice Garbage! Would have been better to blindly choose random stocks. Investment help is mediocre.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trust and Communication I am sorry that I did not came to Schwab sooner. The force of habit made me reluctant to make the change. I am glad I did it only 5 months ago. All of my accounts are self-managed, but I still receive guidance whenever I need it. (The good in Investment Help and Guidance reflects the fact that my "independent" status.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-11-01
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_642
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab