Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Roth IRA

Print

Here's a tax-smart way to help your retirement savings grow. When you open a Roth IRA, your contributions and any earnings grow tax-free and qualified withdrawals can be taken tax-free. At Schwab, you'll get personal investment guidance and great tools and resources.


What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,0002
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;3 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account4

What do I get when I open a Roth IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll get:

  • Qualified withdrawals can be made tax-free
  • No mandatory withdrawals (unlike a Traditional IRA)
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

See client reviews.

Ready to get started?

Need help? Call
866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

  or call 866-855-5636.

Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 626.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MANAGING IRA'S I HAVE HAD IRA'S WITH SCHWAB FOR MANY YEARS AND I AM HAPPY THAT THEY MANAGE THEM TOTALLY..
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy of access / Great research Extremely easy to access account information. Very user friendly trading. Generally excellent call-in center assistance is available. Call-in assistance is available 24/7
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic website and tools The website is clean, easy to use, and has many great researching tools.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Constrained IRA restricted, cannot transfer funds to Schwab checking. IT knows this but will not correct at this time. I've done this before on-line but today I must use a form to set up a new external account link.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great information readily available on the website I have been using Schwab for years and am pleased in all respects.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service and Investment Selections! For my IRA, customer service and selection of products are the most important factors since I am trusting my money for long term investments. I want to make some selections and trust there are friendly people to answer my questions.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All of it Stinks on Ice Garbage! Would have been better to blindly choose random stocks. Investment help is mediocre.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trust and Communication I am sorry that I did not came to Schwab sooner. The force of habit made me reluctant to make the change. I am glad I did it only 5 months ago. All of my accounts are self-managed, but I still receive guidance whenever I need it. (The good in Investment Help and Guidance reflects the fact that my "independent" status.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Linking IRA account to external accounts I was broaching the time in retirement where I i was at a point in my retirement where i want to take out monthly income distibution to an external account. I first went to the money link to set up the new account. When I tried on line it wouldn't let me link online. So I tried chat. The agent told me I had to set up via a form and fax back. She sent me the IRA distribution form which I started filling out but it was looking for specific distribution information which I wasn't ready with. So I called schwab, the agent on the phone walked through the steps of connecting the IRA account with the external account I already set up (via my spouses account). That seemed to be the problem is the account is associated to the profile. So now set up and I can either do one time or recurring distributions also indicating taxes to be withheld.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roth IRA Several years ago we decided to move some of our regular IRA money into Roth IRAs. We completed the transaction over a period of several years to spread out the taxes. The process was simple and now we have a portion of our retirement money that has been growing tax free and will be available for when we need it. The taxes on our RMDs are now lower because we reduced their value but kept and increased our IRA savings.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRA conversion to Roth IRA I decided to roll over a couple of holding in an IRA account over to a Roth IRA for the current tax year. I contacted my local Schwab financial advisor who helped guide me through the process. I think in future tax years I'll be able to do this on my own, but I very much appreciated the personal assistance from Schwab for this 'first time' conversion.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There are a lot of products avalable stock, wide range of mutual funds, bonds, CDs
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Resolved a problem with my tax return While putting my taxes together for the previous year, I discovered to my horror that my wife and I contributed to her IRA when she was not eligible to make a contribution. I immediately called a Schwab IRA representative to find out what I needed to do to remedy this gross error on my part. We were on the phone for over 30 minutes and he expertly and clearly explained what needed to be done and the steps I needed to take to resolve the over payment to my wife's IRA. Those 30 some odd minutes immediately calmed my nerves and I was now confident this problem with our tax return could be easily resolved.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service I have been with Schwab probably for about 40 years and I've always had a great experience with them. I always felt that they really cared about me and my money and weren't just trying to sell me something. Over the years I've learned so much about investing from Schwab, for which I thank them very much.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Service I wanted to consolidate my IRA's and needed to transfer two to Schwab. It was so easy. Filled out the forms and they took it from there. Great job
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great IRA For A Small Fry Investor Like Me! I'm a low income worker who doesn't have a lot of money to invest. I wanted to start growing something for my retirement, and Schwab has been a great place for me. I looked at other firms, but simply couldn't afford the $1000, $2500, or even $10000 minimums required to buy in to some of their funds. It would take me forever to save that much, and I'd likely be stuck in some all-in-one starter fund with higher fees. Schwab has a great selection of funds that I've been able to invest in with as little as a $100 initial investment, with no load and no fee. Subsequent investments have been made easy by being able to link my local checking account to my IRA. I am a total beginner when it comes to investing, and I have had no trouble navigating the site and using the various tools to find and compare funds. If you are a small time nickel-and-dime investor like me, then Schwab can work for you too.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab works for me! I have a fairly good background in financial matters, so my review may not be for the novice. I opened my IRA roll over account about 30 years ago and have had no regrets with Schwab's handling of my assets ever. Obviously the lower fees they charge now compared to many years ago has pleased me. They provide a wide range of products and many educational courses for the newbie.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in every way! I've been a Schwab customer for over 30 years and have NEVER been disappointed! Their service is great and available 24/7/364.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Retirement Review Offered I was with Schwab for many years. The webpage offered a complimentary retirement review. When I called I was told that was only for managed accounts despite the fact I had a substantial sum at Schwab. I needed guidance and had to leave Schwab to receive it at a competitor.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why are we rating a roth ira? Typical Schwab product - you buy it and you are on your own. Oh, I did get a phone call soon after opening it, some guy that sounded and acted like NY Mafioso, asking where I was going to get the money to fund it, now.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Website is first-rate. Have moved from other online brokerages because this site the easiest and most complete for me. Tying in a checking account means I have all my financial transactions at same place to avoid confusion and accelerate transfers and review buys and sells. I love Schwab! J
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am doing AOK I have been with Schwab for 0ver 30 years. Even before I open Schwab accounts, I knew and was convinced that no broker will be there to make my financial decisions for me. I never wanted them to. So I learned to invest myself. Contrary to common thinking, I don't think I spend lot of time doing it. Even when I was working full time as a busy doctor, I was investing myself. On and of I need some technical advises, I get it from Schwab without any problem. All in all I am very happy I have been with Schwab in the last 30+ years. I have been listening to MR Schwab's advise since the beginning of my investing activities: "have faith in the market."
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Account-opening for 401k Transfers The process was simple and easy when I moved my employer 401k over to a Schwab IRA.
Date published: 2015-06-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab