Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Roth IRA

Print

Open a Roth IRA and take advantage of after-tax benefits as you save for retirement.

Ready to get started?

Open a Roth IRA

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Social Security number
  • Driver’s license number
  • Employer’s name and address
  • Statement information for assets or cash you may want to transfer
  • Beneficiary information
  • No fees to open or maintain your account—other charges may apply1
  • A range of stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds, and CDs to choose from
  • Easy access to financial professionals and various investment tools

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,0002
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;3 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account4

What do I get when I open a Roth IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll get:

  • Qualified withdrawals can be made tax-free
  • No mandatory withdrawals (unlike a Traditional IRA)
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

See Client Reviews

Quick answers to related questions

Here are responses to some of the most common questions we hear. If you have a specific question, please call us at 866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

Call
866-855-5636
or

Helpful Resources

We’ll help you choose the right account. Call 877-627-7734 or visit a local branch.

Your New Client Concierge will help you take care of the paperwork, transfer assets, and more.



Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 663.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from pop up blocks the stupid pop-up blocks describing all offerings from schwab delay order entry and are highly iritating. I have considered moving my accounts to another company because of this.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Schwab failed to perform as promised Because the "Transfer Team" failed to sign and return the document as promised in the time promised, i am unable to file for my retirement in a timely manner. By thus preventing me filing, i am likely to lose my first month's pension check. I am one furious client!
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One VERY minor shortcoming. I wish price changes for stocks from prior day were available until later in the morning. I know this is a very minor point, but I usually don't look at price changes for the same days trading and sometimes like to see this the next morning. They set back to zero when I look at them, usually around 7:00-7:30 A.M.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRA Acct - great to deal with Schwab 5/23/17 I have had my IRA with Schwab for over 20 years. Schwab always is easy to deal with, buy & sell stocks, mutual funds & ETF's, and to make annual contributions. Schwab definitely gets 5-stars. Richard H. Ocala, FL
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Research Tools I have always been impressed with Schwab's investment research tools on their website and hope they continue to offer the variety and multitude of tools.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent IRA I appreciate my IRA at Schwab. I am excited about being able to use it to invest and leave my family some income, hopefully.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complete features Schwab has all the features I currently need. One suggestion - if Schwab doesn't already have it - a required minimum distribution calculator or estimator. Schwab provided me with a complete analysis which identified the need to begin withdrawing before I reached 70 1/2 - very helpful
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars excellent service, great execution and good people standing behind product
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great opportunities. Great way to be able to handle your money in a tax differed setting. Trades are made in a very informed intuitive way.Love it!!!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Perfomer Schwab has handled our IRA very well.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! My first IRA over 30 years ago was with Charles Schwab . After a couple of years that small account went into a competitor's mutual fund. But, after retirement three years ago, the first place I came back to was Schwab when I converted my employment 401(k) to an IRA. Now, all of my accounts are with Schwab. I could not be happier with the service and the choices of investment opportunities.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What gives? We like that you double check occasionally when we withdraw cash, but today someone, on a recorded line, said she didnt have our correct address, (and you do! and did)...she said you still have our Des Moines address, I don't see it anywhere. I knew we changed our address when we moved. Why isn't the correct one in your internal system?
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service, Record Keeping and Technology Schwab offers excellent personal service by advisors, and provides useful and easy to understand reports and user friendly transaction technology for all types of accounts. Annual tax reports are always extremely user friendly. Recently lowered fees are also an attraction. In addition to IRA, personal and Trust accounts, we have a custodial IRA for our daughter and we used Schwab to act as custodian for our company profit sharing plan for many years and found that service to be excellent as well. The only issue I have is that they do not seem to offer a system for pin code log in verification which text's a pin code to your mobile phone as a double security measure against identity fraud.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Locks me out of account unless I respond to go paperless
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Investment Environment Schwab definitely delivers on its message of "owning your future" by providing a great investment environment that allows us to view our portfolio from many different perspectives, learn financial analytics at our own pace and apply what we have learned to our investments. We also take comfort in knowing the answers to our questions are always a phone call away. One additional feature that might be nice would be to provide custom labels for positions in accounts to allow he composite (unrealized) yield of any portion of a portfolio to be shown.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rollover IRA Excellent, cost-efficient, professional investment advice. I truly appreciate the select mutual funds and ETF's that help me find some really outstanding funds. I have been very pleased with Schwab and the ease of use for research, trades, and periodic portfolio check-up's. Thank you for making this process simple, yet valuable and very educational.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a bunch of bullies
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reduced Fees Made me Reconsider Changing Companies I was about to move from Schwab due to their trading fees, but they recently cut them to remain competitive, so I am reconsidering because Schwab has a lot of options, but I don't think their research is among the best. I would like to be able to compare ETFs and Mutual Funds by category. I don't like that we can't access closed accounts. I would like to have an easy way to see returns of each holding in my account. Quarterly returns should be easier to customize, update, and delete. I used to have a local contact, but they did away with that which makes it harder to get answers about my account which takes away from my loyalty. I like companies that offer services based on the size of the accounts. They appear to be doing away with premium services while the competition is adding them. I have had an account with Schwab probably since the late 70s or early 80s but even that I can't tell as accounts were combined in 2009 so I can no longer access my history prior to that.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Low Balance Alert I use limit GTC orders for Schwab ETFs and AIP into mutual funds and of course, I cannot have negative balance in retirement accounts. So, there should be a feature to ALERT me if my balance is below a pre-set threshold.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
  • y_2017, m_7, d_17, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_663
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab