Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Accounts & Products
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about your retirement? I can help …
Live chat
 

Roth IRA

Print

Open a Roth IRA and take advantage of after-tax benefits as you save for retirement.

Ready to get started?

Open a Roth IRA

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Social Security number
  • Driver’s license number
  • Employer’s name and address
  • Statement information for assets or cash you may want to transfer
  • Beneficiary information
  • No fees to open or maintain your account—other charges may apply1
  • A range of stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds, and CDs to choose from
  • Easy access to financial professionals and various investment tools

What are the fees and commissions?

  • $0 account open or maintenance fees. Other account fees, fund expenses, and brokerage commissions may apply1
  • Minimum required to open an account: $1,0002
  • Commissions: $4.95 per online equity trade;3 $0 per Schwab ETF online trade in your Schwab account4

What do I get when I open a Roth IRA?

Every Schwab account comes with investment help and guidance. With this account, you'll get:

  • Qualified withdrawals can be made tax-free
  • No mandatory withdrawals (unlike a Traditional IRA)
  • Retirement planning tools and resources in Understanding IRAs
  • 24/7 service and support

See Client Reviews

Quick answers to related questions

Here are responses to some of the most common questions we hear. If you have a specific question, please call us at 866-855-5636.

Take the next step.

Call
866-855-5636
or

Helpful Resources

We’ll help you choose the right account. Call 877-627-7734 or visit a local branch.

Your New Client Concierge will help you take care of the paperwork, transfer assets, and more.



Individual Retirement Account is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 704.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beginner Schwab offers many services and features.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RMD in confusion Need way for better advice on RMD.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Advice always available Overall, Schwab has a wide variety of mutual funds that are VERY competitive. Add to that the low cost for buying/selling stocks and the good information available to make educated decisions. That is a winning combination to me.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Financial Group!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Schwab has met all my requirements for both IRA and Taxable account.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disastrous Customer Followup / Beware of Bait and Switch tactics
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally not user friendly No information on how to use my account. Too much information that doesn't seem to apply to my type of account.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab IRA Schwab has low cost investment options that meet my needs and tools that help me find and evaluate investment opportunities.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is okay! I would like a bit more review/recommendations. Do not want to hire your guys.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful and easy. Easy to search for info and any help you may need .
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review Helpful, available staff
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from consistent performance easy to use and make me see good account for the future.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab Rises Above The Rest You cannot beat Schwab. It's where I've sent my parents, my siblings, my friends, and anybody else who asks me. No one does it better. They are the (highest) benchmark.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from online transactions are user friendly
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great For Non-Experts I switched to Chuck's because I save so much money. My previous financial 'analyst' charged a 2% commission on trades. So just setting up my rollover IRA cost me a fortune. I wasn't going to give them another fortune when I needed to make some changes/trades. After all, I was doing all the research and work. I like all the features on the website as well. Very informative and flexible. My Schwab contact is much more responsive than my personal finance gal was. Give em a try, you won't regret it.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from lost the holding tracker on this account Schwab appears to be taking away features on my account web site. Bad form.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too much emphasis on Schwab preferred (e.g., paid ) accounts When I wanted to invest in a fund I have researched, including Morningstar ratings, I had to pay $75 commission. If you really want the customer to enjoy the investing privilege, ALL of your charges should be in the competitive range (say, $8 to $15). If I want to buy anymore of that fund, I will open an account with them directly.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Portfolio Performance Info There should be more information int the "Portfolio Performance" Section of the website. There should be Mid Cap info in the asset class info, should show where my portfolio is heavy or light by reign if the world ( i.e. North America, South America, Europe, etc.), and etc.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great selection and prices Schwab let me build my retirement funds to a point so I could retire.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this company and product ETF. I am keep receiving good financial statements each month.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product options; support when needed; low(est) fees I cannot imagine a better vehicle for managing retirement assets than the Schwab IRA. I am comfortable handling most things myself, but any help I need is always quick, knowledgeable and courteous.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around Schwab offers retirement accounts that fit all my needs. And they all come with great service, excellent on-line tools, and low cost.
Date published: 2017-06-28
  • y_2017, m_9, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_704
  • loc_en_US, sid_1003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab