Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Checking Account
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about banking solutions? I can help …
Live chat
 

Schwab Bank High Yield Investor Checking Account®

Print

Pay no ATM fees worldwide with our popular online checking account.1 There are no monthly service fees, you’ll earn interest on your balance, and your account is FDIC-insured.

What are the fees and minimums?

  • Monthly service fees: $0
  • Account minimum: $0

What do I get with this account?

  • Unlimited fee rebates from any ATM worldwide1
  • A 0.10% APY variable interest rate on any balance2
  • Free bill pay on Schwab.com and Schwab Mobile
  • Apply for Schwab Mobile Deposit™ to deposit checks from anywhere
  • Free standard checks and a Visa® Platinum debit card once the account has been funded. 
  • FDIC insurance up to $250,0003
  • A linked Schwab One® brokerage account
  • Link to Apple Pay™ to make purchases with your iPhone® 6 or iPhone 6 Plus Learn more.
  • Enroll your Schwab Bank Debit Card with Visa Checkout for a convenient and more secure online purchase experience with participating merchants. Enroll at Visa Checkout.

View High Yield Investor Checking Account Features and Fees.4

See client reviews

Ready to get started?

Apply Now

Need help? Call
800-540-6718.

Satisfaction Guarantee

We believe every investor deserves to work with a firm they can count on. At Schwab Bank, our commitment to your satisfaction is backed by a Satisfaction Guarantee.5 If for any reason you’re not completely satisfied, we’ll work with you to make things right. Learn more about our Satisfaction Guarantee.


Take the next step.

Open a Schwab Bank High Yield Investor Checking account today.

Apply Now

Find out how we make it easy to manage your banking and brokerage activities in one convenient location. Watch now.



High Yield Investor Checking is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1054.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Carefree checking Features I like are: automatic transfer from my trading account; access to transaction history, VISA/ATM card that works in any ATM.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing experience all around! All the features of the account are easy to use and the customer service makes this account the best financial decision I have made!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's Not To Like? I've only had this account for about 2 months now but I really have no complaints. Yes, they put a longer hold on mobile deposits and transfers for "new accounts" but it's only for the first 3 months. Plus all of the other great features far outweigh that 1 setback. No ATM fees...for me this is huge because I came from a smaller bank that when I traveled, I better have cash on me or suck it up and pay the fees. The interest rate isn't that great but my old checking account had no interest rate, so any interest rate in a checking account is good compared to what I had. I haven't had any problems with customer service.. but I've also only had to call once; to verify my account. I haven't even had to visit a branch which to me is amazing! I love being able to do everything on my phone or a computer. All in all, so far so good! Would definitely recommend this account to anyone.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Courtesy & helpfulness personified Whenever I call with a question or concern, I am always helped in a very professional and courteous manner. I was not sure of a charge on my checking account, together, we figured it out...was a convenience store where I had forgotten I had purchased gas on my way home from Myrtle Beach, SC.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great features
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great service, some things could be improved Overall my experience with Schwab for checking has been excellent. Customer service is immediate and top notch, great mobile app, ATM fee reimbursement, even overseas, mobile deposit, and having all of my accounts in one place online is very useful. interest yield for checking is another bonus. However I think the flexibility for moving money out of and into the checking account could be better. Two examples: 1) international wires have to be accepted through brokerage, which is an extra step 2) contributions to my SEP IRA have to be done through brokerage, which is also an extra step
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Schwab has been outstanding Great travel debit card with amazing customer service. Any time I've had an issue, Schwab has been incredibly helpful
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! This is a great account, with lots of extra features like the brokerage. It's been a lot of fun.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Checking Charles Schwab was my first broker-dealer that allowed me to have an easy access checking out with a competitive interest rate, instead of forcing me into a money market mutual fund. The mobile deposit feature and ease of transfers between accounts is exceptional.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best online banking experience! Easy online experience, you can use any ATM fee free, highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely satisfied Several years ago I switched, due to the convenience and not having to pay ATM fees. I have been extremely satisfied with my Schwab experience. I was motivated to begin investing, and have appreciated the low fees and easy access to my accounts in one place.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A For Awful These people of questionable morals have the gull to tell me when I may or may not access my own equity. Simply unsound.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Constant Support I am a fan of getting my ATM Fees reimbursed, it really helps out for not having a central bank I can go to. It is frustrating sometimes that If i want to initiate any transfers into, or schedule bill payments, I have to do that in the middle of the week; on the weekend there is an automatic 2 day buffer for any activity I would like to schedule. Having simple fees and notification if money is absent, automatically giving me options to pull money from is a plus.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I like it that transactions take place within one business day.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bank I've ever been with I have had numerous bank accounts and Schwab has been the best overall. Customer Service is 90% of the reason I would not bank with any other bank. Great work! Keep up the excellent service and you will go far. Please open up more Branches in the South. I have already convinced two people to switch to Schwab & it would be way easier if your branches were local. Offer more incentive plans to refer potential clients.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actual People answer the Phone! I got a Schwab Checking account about 7 months ago and it's been absolutely fantastic. I travel a lot and I always get a great exchange rate and at the end of the month I get reimbursed for all the ATM fees. I had to make 3 withdraws in one day and Visa shut down the account but a quick call the customer service got me on the phone with an actual person who spoke excellent English and the problem was squared away in no time at all.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! The customer support has been a vision of paradise in comparison with every other banking system. I can't believe I didn't know about this earlier. The freedom to travel with the Platinum Card and use any ATM is alone a great feature, not to mention the total lack of monthly fees. On the whole it is inspired, and I can't recommend it enough on the basis that it is...well, brilliant!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use I have had this account for a number of years and i love using it
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bank Ever! Best customer service. All ATM fees reimbursed. No fees plus interest bearing account!
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service, Great Value Schwab always has fantastic customer service any time I contact them. I also love the reimbursement of ATM fees (lets me use any ATM I want), the free physical checks and the account also pays interest! What's not to like?
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from banking intelligently I'm delighted with my Schwab bank account. The mobile app and the web interface are so intelligently designed and feature-packed that doing anything from making deposits to updating my bookkeeping software is simple and fast. Well done. And I haven't even mentioned the ATM-fee refunds or the *much* higher interest my money earns with Schwab.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for International Travelers I love this account as a world traveler.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bank for Travelers A lot of other banks have terrible ATM fees abroad. Schwab is class act for everyone, especially world travelers. No ATM fees, easy website interface, FANTASTIC customer service, and excellent products. Thanks for being a great bank.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! They pay all your ATM fees every month which makes it so easy to get money. There are no foreign transaction fees, so you can take money out of ATMs outside the US and they'll pay you back for those fees too! Depositing checks from your phone is super easy. The bill pay is also a nice feature and easy to use.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from no fees is great, online services not so after 8 years, I have never regretted my decision. Even my atm fees in Australia were reimbursed.. thanks! It would be nice if we could transfer $ between checking and savings AND getting an E-statement from the savings account is long overdue.
Date published: 2016-11-02
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1054
  • loc_en_US, sid_1001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab