Download the Schwab app from iTunes®Get the AppClose

  • Find a branch
  • Chat
To expand the menu panel use the down arrow key. Use Tab to navigate through submenu items.

Checking Account
Let's chat
Professional answers 24/7
Hi, have questions about banking solutions? I can help …
Live chat
 

Schwab Bank High Yield Investor Checking Account®

Print

Pay no ATM fees worldwide with our popular online checking account.1 There are no monthly service fees, you’ll earn interest on your balance, and your account is FDIC-insured.

What are the fees and minimums?

  • Monthly service fees: $0
  • Account minimum: $0

What do I get with this account?

  • Unlimited fee rebates from any ATM worldwide1
  • A 0.13% APY variable interest rate on any balance2
  • Free bill pay on Schwab.com and Schwab Mobile
  • Apply for Schwab Mobile Deposit™ to deposit checks from anywhere
  • Free standard checks and a Visa® Platinum debit card once the account has been funded. 
  • FDIC insurance up to $250,0003
  • A linked Schwab One® brokerage account
  • Link to Apple Pay™ to make purchases with your iPhone® 6 or iPhone 6 Plus Learn more.
  • Enroll your Schwab Bank Debit Card with Visa Checkout for a convenient and more secure online purchase experience with participating merchants. Enroll at Visa Checkout.

View High Yield Investor Checking Account Features and Fees.4

See client reviews

Ready to get started?

Apply Now

Need help? Call
800-540-6718.

Satisfaction Guarantee

We believe every investor deserves to work with a firm they can count on. At Schwab Bank, our commitment to your satisfaction is backed by a Satisfaction Guarantee.5 If for any reason you’re not completely satisfied, we’ll work with you to make things right. Learn more about our Satisfaction Guarantee.


Take the next step.

Open a Schwab Bank High Yield Investor Checking account today.

Apply Now

Find out how we make it easy to manage your banking and brokerage activities in one convenient location. Watch now.



High Yield Investor Checking is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1081.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Account & Service We came to Schwab after our local bank was bought out. Service deteriorated and fees skyrocketed. We live in a very rural area close to the border so we are dependent on ATM for cash. Schwab's policies are wonderful, even when we go abroad to Canada. It was easy to set up auto-pay and inter-bank periodic transfers and to move money rapidly to/from brokerage accounts. There are no fees, outstanding service and prompt responses to inquiries. This is a great bank.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never any problems! on-line banking easy to use; live customer service always helpful & pleasant
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't think of leaving Schwab We joined because there were no ATM fees, but have been amazed by Schwab's customer service and our ability to handle all our accounts together.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and service While Schwab has always had a competitive if not industry-leading price, it's the combination of that with incredible email, chat, and phone support that set it apart. I've literally never had a bad experience in 8 years.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bank Ever! Best customer service. Best features. NO ridiculous fees.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from done right Excellent communication and out of country response. Love the fact I can talk with real people, anytime, that are in the USA.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best services and courteous, professional staff
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works all the time Bill pay, transferring funds, all aspects of banking are excellent.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I discovered Schwab when I lived overseas a few years ago. I have been a loyal customer and have recommended it to family and friends. Couldn't be more happy with the customer service and everything works.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a bank account for me! I have had multiple bank accounts over the years and each one had a piece of this one, but Shwab nails it all. The unlimited ATM rebates, the decent interest rate, the ease of the website and mobile app, the fantastic customer service, the one-login to access my checking, investor, and 401k accounts....the list goes on. Never thought I would feel comfortble with an online bank, and a lot of these popup online banks just seemed too iffy/sketchy to me. But when I found an online bank by a name I recognized, I knew I was in the right place, and I have not been disappointed yet! Very glad I found this account! Also- I STRUGGLED to pick out my favorite feature from the list they have here- they're all great!
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I found Schwab for my travels! I figured I owed Schwab a review, since it has been so good to me on my travels. I used this card on a 5 month trip all over the world, from New Zealand to Europe, and I didn't have to worry about ATM charges or conversion fees or anything--it was just perfect. I even lost my card towards the end of my travels and promptly called Schwab. They shipped it to me right away all the way to Europe in only a few days, no fee. Dealing with customer service (when I lost my card or had any questions) was always an A+ experience. The only words of advice I have are to make sure you can plan ahead because it does take 4-5 business days to transfer money from your bank account to your Schwab account. I would strongly recommend the High Yield Investor Checking account to anyone thinking about it--it really is as good as it sounds, there is no catch!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Account, Please do not change a thing! I got this account before I moved to Europe two years ago. This account has been wonderful. I don't have to pay for ATM fees, I don't have to pay to maintain either account. And today I found out that my online job is switching from PayPal and needs to send the money directly to my account via international wire transfer. My other bank charges $40 to receive it. I called Charles Schwab today and they told me that I can get it sent to my brokerage account for no fee. This account has saved me so much money over the past two years! I'm never banking anywhere else!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from checking and brokerage accounts just opened check and brokerage accounts and very happy. excellent customer service, always available, easy to use on-line account with bill pay. Love the ability to have my bills sent directly to bill pay. Would highly recommend
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Low Interest Rate Lower interest rate than at other online banks
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent services. Schwab meets and exceeds all my expectations
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No fee, Go free! Great banking packages without any fee, can withdraw money everywhere in the world for free. The only draw back is that the interface should be designed more similar to commercial banks with less connection to brokerage.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, security and service! Opened my account a few weeks ago, so far I love it. The app is easy to use, linked my accounts, friendly fast service, always able to speak to a live rep when needed! Highly recommend ! Looking forward to playing with my brokerage account soon!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding The customer service is amazing. I've never had an issue that wasn't resolved promptly. Schwab goes way beyond what I've experienced (or even heard of) at any other bank. I'm surprised everyone doesn't have a checking account here.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No monthly fee, no ATM fee, no limit on int'l wire transfers I never thought I would be writing a review about a bank account, but here I am. I signed up for the High Yield account before I moved overseas. You can access your money from any ATM with no fee, from anywhere in the world. I finally settled in Denmark and purchased property here. With the Schwab account, I was able to wire transfer all my money internationally with only a $25 flat fee. I'm closing my Chase account and never looking back
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad option if you have funds/Excellent one for those who do not If you have any money, you can get much better service from an actual bank. I realized this after a bad customer service experience that Schwab could not or would not resolve. If you don't have investment or cash available, this is a great option as they do not charge fees. But if have investment funds or savings, you can get everything Schwab offer plus much more from a bank. They all have elite accounts that offer personalized customer service and everything that comes with in person banking. (Notary, safe deposit box, free cashier checks etc) Again, if you don't have much available funds, Schwab is a great choice, but if you do, go to the bank!
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Very happy with our checking account! Even see a little bit of interest!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good experience I use Schwab as my back up checking account/savings account. No ATM fees, decent (in today's world) interest, and easy access to putting funds in my brokerage account. I still use snail mail for my statements (which is free) but thinking of going paperless just to eliminate waste. Overall, my experience couldn't be better. Thanks Chuck.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FREE CHECKING Good for free checking, but "High-yield"??? You must be kidding
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All Around Great Company I initially got a Schwab checking account when I went overseas due to no ATM fees and since then I have recommended Schwab to countless people and will continue to do so. I have been so pleased with how easy it is to do banking with Schwab despite how few actual locations there are. It's pretty unnecessary to even need to go to a physical location. The customer service is also fantastic, which is hard to find with most companies!
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Carefree checking Features I like are: automatic transfer from my trading account; access to transaction history, VISA/ATM card that works in any ATM.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing experience all around! All the features of the account are easy to use and the customer service makes this account the best financial decision I have made!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-12-13
  • y_2017, m_5, d_7, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1081
  • loc_en_US, sid_1001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schwab